Biography of Mr. Moses Verasammy Nagamootoo 1st Vice President & Prime Minister

Mr Moses Nagamootoo was born on November 30, 1947 in Whim Village, Corentyne, Berbice, Guyana of parents Gangama and Nagamootoo Ramaswamy. He is married to Sita Nagamootoo and has four children; Angela Vashmini, Sita Maria, Adela Gangama and Moses Ernesto. He was educated at Auchlyne Scots School, Rose Hall & Comprehensive High School and the University of Guyana. He later pursued law at the Hugh Wooding Law School. He also pursued courses at the Accabre College of Social Sciences and the Venezuelan Spanish Language Institute and is a Fellowship of Allen White School of Journalism, University of Kansas Political Life Mr. Nagamootoo, in 1961, entered politics at age 14, during the struggle for Guyana’s independence. In October 1964, he became a Member of the Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO) and People’s Progressive Party (PPP). In 1966, he founded the National Union of Students. Political Posts From 1976-2011, he was a Member of the PPP Central Committee, and from 1978-2005, a Member of PPP Executive Committee. In 2011, Mr Nagamootoo became the Vice-Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC). Cabinet/Parliamentary portfolio From 1992 to 2011, he served as a Member of Parliament. Mr Nagamootoo was a Member of Cabinet under four Presidents (Cheddi and Janet Jagan, Samuel Hinds and Bharrat Jagdeo) during the period 1992-2001. Other portfolios include Senior Minister of Information and Senior Minister of Local Government & Regional Development with responsibility for Information & Amerindian Affairs. Committees & Boards: Member of Select Committee on Constitutional Reform, Chairman of Oversight Committee of the Select Committee on Constitutional Reform, Member, Foreign Relations and Standing Orders Committees, Council Member, University of Guyana, Director, Guyana Airways Corporation (1994-1998), Executive Member, Guyana Bar Association (2005-2006),Teacher (1964-70), Journalist (1971-92). Journalist Organisations He was General Secretary of the Union of Guyanese Journalists-UGJ (1970-1992), Founder Member and Executive Member of Caribbean Association of Media Workers- CAMWORK (1986-1992, Executive Member of Federation of Latin American Journalists-FELAP, and Vice-President of International Organisation of Journalists-IOJ (1990-1996). Awards PPP’s Certificate for Meritorious Service-1990, Guyana IOJ Scroll of Honour as Outstanding Journalist-1996, Vietnam GOPIO Community Service Award- 2008, India