Cooperative Republic Of Guyana

Guyana is a paradise for nature lovers, adventure seekers, and the Eco-tourist alike. We boast an irresistible combination of fascinating and breathtaking natural beauty; pristine Amazonian rainforests; immense waterfalls;, amazing wildlife; blended with a vibrant indigenous culture, rich heritage and the most hospitable and friendly people in the world. 2016 holds a lot of optimism for our tourism sector as we seek to make ‘Guyana – South America Undiscovered’, the destination of choice. If you are looking for a one of a kind destination full of adventure, hospitality and unique experiences, then ‘Guyana – South America Undiscovered' is the place to come!!!
A truly memorable, unforgettable and out-of-the-ordinary experience awaits you.

Area:       83,000 sq. miles/214,969 sq. km
Location: Northern Coast of South America
Borders with: Brazil, Venezuela, Suriname
Capital: Georgetown

Population: 752,940 (2010 est.) Official Language: English Creole is widely spoken Amerindian languages also spoken

Ethnic Groups:
East Indian       43 %
African             31 %
Amerindian       9 %
Mixed               17 %
Religions: Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Rastafarian

Tropical, hot, humid, moderated by northeast tradewinds
Equatorial Rainforest. Mean temperature of 27.5C
2 rainy seasons: May-July, Nov-Jan

Guyana Dollar (G$)
US$1.00 – G$204 (2012)

Time Zone: GMT minus 4
U.S. Eastern Standard Tine +1

International Direct Dialing:
Access Code – 592





Guyana is the only English speaking country among the twelve countries of South America. “Guyana” is a Native American Indian (Amerindian) word which means “Land of Many Waters” due to its numerous rivers, creeks and waterfalls. The first Europeans to settle in the country were the Dutch who traded with Native Indians and began cultivating cotton and sugar cane in the 17th century.


For more than 100 years Guyana was colonized by Holland, France and England as these three countries competed for ownership over Guyana and other territories in the region. Eventually Britain gained overall control in 1814 and named the country British Guiana. It remained a colony of Britain until becoming independent in 1966. The country’s name was changed to Guyana after Independence.  In 1970, Guyana became a Republic.

The Europeans enslaved Africans and brought them to work in Guyana to produce sugar cane and cotton because the Native Indians resisted against compulsory labor. The slaves were freed by 1838. Laborers were then brought from India, China and Portugal to do the work. The descendants of these laborers make up the present day inhabitants of Guyana. The population of the country now is about 750,000 people.