The Government of Guyana

The President appoints the Prime Minister, who is the leader of Government’s business in the National Assembly. The National Assembly or Parliament has 65 members elected for a five-year period, comprising 40 elected by proportional representation and 25 indirectly elected by regional assemblies.

The President appoints the Cabinet, over which he presides. Cabinet may include no more than five individuals not sitting in the National Assembly.

Legislative power is vested in the National Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the Executive and the Legislature.

Guyana is divided into ten regions for administrative purposes, which are administered by Regional Development Councils.

Municipalities and Neighbourhood Democratic Councils form a third tier of government.

Guyana has also established a system of Amerindian Village Councils.

For more information, please click on Ministry of the Presidency